US and Canadian Nationals 2017: The Judges

 

The holidays are over, the cold of January is settling in, Americans are either celebrating or thanking their lucky stars that US Nationals are providing a welcome distraction to that thing that’s happening on Friday. But American skating fans have plenty of reasons to be frustrated by sport as well – Adam Rippon, Polina Edmunds, and Alexa Scimeca and Chris Kneirim are just some of the big names taken out of competition this weekend by injury, leaving big gaps on the podium and possibly even larger gaps on the world championship team as competitors look to maintain or reclaim three spots in Pyeongchang.

In significant contrast, Canada looks to be on the upswing – a resurgent team of really strong ladies, a two-time pairs world championship team that seems to peak at just the right time each season, a quad salchow from the guy who won Canadian Nationals eight times without it (eight, 8, one two three four five six seven eight), and the dramatic return of Tessa and Scott should make Canadian Nationals the prelude to a fantastic second half of the international season for Team Canada.

Thank you to these judges who will be giving their takes on American and Canadian nationals!

American Nationals
Bronwyn (@inabauers) | Lutz and Glory
Tell us a little about your experiences with figure skating or as a fan. Your friendly Detroit-area skating fan.

What’s your favorite grossly underscored skate of the last five years? Tatsuki Machida should have won 2014 Worlds.

Emily E. (@JoyofEmily)
Tell us a little about your experiences with figure skating or as a fan. Lifelong figure skater. Currently coaching teeny tiny Learn To Skate and Low Freestyle skaters, passing on my love of the Kerrigan spiral.
What’s your favorite grossly underscored skate of the last five years? Hubbell & Donohue’s 2015/16 Short Dance certainly did not receive the credit it was due all season.

Fannya C. (@LAFANNYA)
Tell us a little about your experiences with figure skating or as a fan. I have been a fan of figure skating since 2012. I became one when I was randomly changing channels and came across Nationals. I thought it was such a beautiful sport and art. Ever since I have watched every season and have tried to attend more competitions.
What’s your favorite grossly underscored skate of the last five years? Karen Chen

Hannah C. (@hannahskates96) | A Skater’s Perspective
Tell us a little about your experiences with figure skating or as a fan. I started skating 13 years ago and have been competing for 10 years. I am currently at the Novice level and I literally spend all of my free time on skating. Literally. Watching skating, researching skating, dreaming about skating.
What’s your favorite grossly underscored skate of the last five years? Ashley Wagner’s 2016 Worlds Short Program. She should have been the leader.

Joseph K. (@thebrothaj)
Tell us a little about your experiences with figure skating or as a fan. Former novice level skater (Early ’80’s). Forever a fan of quality skating over quantity skating. Last competition attended was Skate America 2016.
What’s your favorite grossly underscored skate of the last five years? Carolina Kostner, 2014 Winter Olympics short & long programs.

Lauren B. (@lbee329)
What’s your favorite grossly underscored skate of the last five years? By a mile for me is Meryl and Charlie’s Samson and Delilah 2009 Worlds. It should have won the free dance. They should have medaled. I watched it every so often and every time I am still mad.

Canadian Nationals
Cassandra (@CKimm1314) | Tumblr
Tell us a little about your experiences with figure skating or as a fan. I’ve been skating since I was three, and am working on becoming a fully certified coach. My first live event at SCI 2015 is what got me into this full time. Long time fan of Patrick Chan though! Now I’m obsessed and if I’m not watching figure skating I’m probably at the rink! 🙂
What’s your favorite grossly underscored skate of the last five years? Probably gonna go with Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir’s free dance in Sochi.

Justine K. (@beanyskates) | Princess Beany Skates
Tell us a little about your experiences with figure skating or as a fan. I skated for years and have now coached for just as many. I fell in love with the sport when I saw Alexei Yagudin live at the 2001 World Championships in Vancouver. Since then I’ve been to another 4 World Championships (and I’ll be in Finland this year!) and a number of smaller events, started a figure skating blog, and dedicated many seasons to getting up early to watch events live from Japan.
What’s your favorite grossly underscored skate of the last five years? I still think Scott & Tessa should be two-time Olympic Champions, definitely underscored in Sochi.

Ryan P. (@jetsfan_85)
Tell us a little about your experiences with figure skating or as a fan. I used to compete from ages 15-17 and casually skated for years later. Just got back into it this year (31y.o now). I watch every GP competition of the year as well as Canadian and American Nationals etc.
What’s your favorite grossly underscored skate of the last five years? Bourne/Kraatz River Dance 1998 Worlds…they should have won gold.

Sharon (@RosaCotton) | Tumblr
Tell us a little about your experiences with figure skating or as a fan. I became a year-round figure skating fan when my roommate and I watched Skate America, and I fell head-over-heels for Davis/White’s Die Fledermaus. Ice dance remains my favorite discipline (men a close second). Having followed the ShibSibs for five years, I was so thrilled for them winning silver at Worlds with two fantastic programs. So excited to see what will happen in ice dance this season!

Taryn (@tleeh)
Tell us a little about your experiences with figure skating or as a fan. I started skating at age 3; quit at age 10 when lessons were at 5 am. I’ve always watched! I’ve attended 2 Skate Canadas, 1 Worlds and one Canadian Nationals. I plan to attend Canadian Nationals this year.
What’s your favorite grossly underscored skate of the last five years? Weaver/Poje Worlds 2016
To keep up with those who have Twitter during the competitions, subscribe to our list and follow The Judges’ TableAnd check out the updated Judges’ Page to quickly find all of our judges online.
One thought on “US and Canadian Nationals 2017: The Judges

  1. Pingback: Figure Skating Articles for Wednesday, January 18, 2017 | BLAZING BLADES II

Leave a Reply

