The Judges’ Table Does Four Continents 2017

mai-mihara-4cc-2017

The Four Continents Championship is supposed to be the Asian, North America, and Australian response (I assume Africa and South America would be welcome too) to Europeans, but since its inception in 1999, it has had the great *distinction* of being extremely close to the Olympics, not being used in world team selection by the three most competitive countries at the competition, and being a huge schlep for at least half the event’s skaters, regardless of where it takes place. But this year, with the participation of top pairs, dance, and men’s skaters, and as the test event for the 2018 Olympic Games, Four Continents held a bit more excitement. Even the ladies, whose podium featured zero Grand Prix Finalists, zero national champions, and a medalist who didn’t even make the world championship team, put down stellar performances.

Unfortunately, I’ve been unable to track down several videos I was hoping to find for this post. If you find a video that’s missing, please send it this way!

And finally, here we are: thanks to these six judges for sitting at The Judges’ Table for this surprisingly exciting event!

Amber C. (@amberchamberlan) | A Skater’s Perspective
Tell us a little about your experiences with figure skating or as a fan. I am a figure skater and I have been skating for 10 years, and competing for 3. I have been a fan for 4 years and attended the 2016 U.S Figure Skating Championships. I met Ashley Wagner twice, and it was awesome both times.
What’s your favorite grossly underscored skate of the last five years? I would have to go with Ashley Wagner’s short program at the Olympics. I totally agree with her reaction and thought that should have been scored higher.

Clara P. (@jimboppa| You Only Lutz Once
Tell us a little about your experiences with figure skating or as a fan. I am the other half of skating blog You Only Lutz Once, as well as a founding member of Michael Christian Martinez (PHI)’s fansite Tropical Frost. I also try translating updates on Team Korea. Besides streaming, I’ve watched Four Continents in Taipei last season. (Yes, I was one of the two “banner-waving girls caught on TV too many times). Jin Seo Kim (KOR) hugged me at Asia Open Trophy earlier this August, and we had a conversation in both Korean and English.
What’s your favorite grossly underscored skate of the last five years? Kim Yuna’s free skate at the 2014 Olympics. Enough said.

ElisaTumblr
Tell us a little about your experiences with figure skating or as a fan. I’ve been a roller skater for 15 years (and also competed nationally), but of course I am also into ice skating. I have always watched it, but become obsessed after the Sochi Olympics.
What’s your favorite grossly underscored skate of the last five years? Satoko Miyahara’s FS at Worlds 2016 – she was well judged generally, but SO underscored if compared to the other ladies.

Emily W. (@Em_Wilmes)
Tell us a little about your experiences with figure skating or as a fan. My first live figure skating event was the 1998 World Championships. I have always loved figure skating and still bust out my skates occasionally and attempt a Karen Chen-esque spiral (although I am not as successful as she is). My first foray into publicly sharing my skating opinions came last year, when I was one of USFSA’s Fan Bloggers. Now I just tweet, mainly about the fit of the mens’ pants (looking at you, Jorik).
What’s your favorite grossly underscored skate of the last five years? Satoko in general is underscored a lot (in my opinion). Also Ashley. Duh.

Justyna Z. (@anedgecall)
Tell us a little about your experiences with figure skating or as a fan. I’m a figure skating fan who has never skated and now can skate only forward. Not much else. Figure skating was my family tradition when we watched the competition with my mum and grandma.
What’s your favorite grossly underscored skate of the last five years? It’s a popular choice, but Mao Asada Olympic FS in 2014.
Victor (@VictorShi12)
Tell us a little about your experiences with figure skating or as a fan. I am a three-time Sectionals competitor.
What’s your favorite grossly underscored skate of the last five years? Kim Yuna at the 2014 Olympics.

LET’S GET JUDGING. Click “continue reading” below to continue. When you’re finished reading, leave a comment to let us know what you thought about 4CC, how you think the real judges did, and how you think our judges did. If you disagree, sign up to judge an event later in the year and share your thoughts!

Be honest: how much of this event did you *actually* watch?
Amber: All of it, but I may have accidentally fallen asleep during a couple of programs.

Clara: I watched almost everything, but I had to watch ice dance, pairs, and ladies again since I wasn’t paying attention (for the ice dance and pairs), while I was out for both the ladies SP and FS.

Elisa: Unfortunately only the Men’s event live (yay, thank you crazy schedule!), the others I watched later on Youtube.

Emily W: All of the short programs/dances and the free programs/dances from the Top 5-6 and my faves because I ran out of time 😦

Justyna: About 60% live. Us Europeans sometimes need to sleep too, and Ice Dance was broadcasted to early to be up for me.

Victor: All of the events except the free dance.

Who had the best performance of the event?
Amber: The best performance award goes to Mirai Nagasu’s free skate because the winner actually does take it all… well bronze but that’s practically gold so Mirai is the queen of 4cc. Why isn’t she on the world team again?

Clara: I am going to be biased here and say that my twin sister Mai Mihara had the best performance here. (She looks like I did when I was her age. I’m not kidding). Jokes aside, she was tagged as a dark horse coming into the event, but surprised everyone by winning the whole thing with two solid skates. As for the men, I might go with Nathan Chen. He is the newest member of the 100-point SP and the 200-point FS clubs… There was no doubt he deserved to win the men’s event.

Elisa: I’m gonna go with Mai Mihara and her lovely Cinderella free skate. Who would have thought that the third (or fourth?) Japanese lady would win 4CC with two flawless performances and would be awarded by Yuna Kim? I wouldn’t have. Totally unexpected, maybe also a little lucky. Her style is quite simple but elegant. She still needs some time to be “the full package,” but she’s on her way. Also, shoutout to Sui/Han and their free skate, I was in tears.

Emily W: Hands-down, no contest, shut-it-down, Sui/Han’s Free Skate. I have not cried this much since Mirai’s SP at Worlds last year. A poignant music choice, beautiful choreography, and wonderful execution (minus the one fall but honestly who even noticed that). This program makes me super emotional in the best way possible. I can’t wait to drown in my own tears when they skate it clean at Helsinki en route to their first world title.

Justyna: My pick for the performance of the event is Sui and Han SP. I somehow managed to skip the previews of their new material and that was the first time I watched it and liked Lori Nichols choreography. They both are so good skaters that they bring pairs to the new level and this program is my everything. Also Mirai Nagasu made a magical moment with her FS.

Victor: I thought that for the men’s event, Yuzuru Hanyu had the best performance, both for the short and long program. He is the skater who has the whole package. In his short, he popped his 4s into a 2s, but that didn’t stop him from performing. In the past, I didn’t really like Yuzuru’s short program, but when he did it here, I thought that it was great. His long program, without the pop, was a masterpiece. The way he connects with the music and still manages to pull of the jump is an art is self. I loved Sui and Han’s short program. I think that the way the Sui expresses herself is like no other pairs skater. The throw triple flip blew my mind- the height and the distance it covered was the best in the world. Even though we haven’t seen much of them this season, they proved to me how good they can perform under pressure.

Who improved the most from the last time you watched them skate?
Amber: Dabin Choi. I remember her finishing 9th at NHK, and now at 4cc, she finished 4th. I’d say that’s quite an improvement. Also I love her La La Land short program!

Clara: I am going to start my Team Korea and Team Philippines resident hype-woman duties and say, both Sihyeong Lee and Michael Christian Martinez improved from when I last saw them both. After a less-than-impressive JGP season, Lee kind of became surprise fourth-placer at the domestic ranking comp (which determines 4CC assignments) and surprise bronze medalist at Korean nationals. A few seasons ago, the poor boy was the national headcase, so to see him put down two clean skates in his senior debut was gratifying. As for Martinez, it’s been a rough season for him. Although it wasn’t his best, the performances he put out here were better than what I’ve seen from him all season long.

Elisa: Dabin Choi. I always thought she was one of those random junior Korean skaters with very good jumps but no artistry. But she improved. There’s still a lot to work on, but I bet she’s trying to show the emotional side of figure skating, and not just the technical one.

Emily W: I was so happy to see Gabby Daleman do so well here, for multiple reasons (*cough*). Both her programs were great, but that personal best free skate was…wow. Girlfriend is powerful AF.

Justyna: I think Alaine Chartrand. I have soft spot for her after Rostelecom Cup, where she surprisingly medaled. She is well balanced between being artistic and really attacking her programs and has also this year material that I love. So seeing her back in the free skate closer to her old self has made me really happy.

Victor: Boyang Jin for sure. I remember watching him live at Skate America this year, and he was a disaster, to say the least. He fell many times to a less than stellar performance. I thought that this time, he really worked to put his jumps in his program, while still performing for the same time. Even though Boyang’s long program wasn’t his best, I could see that he was trying and making  strides in his program component scores. I would also say Nam Ngyun improved a ton. With a coaching change, it felt like he had a new sense of happiness and security. His free skate was so much better. With the growing pains and unstable skates he has had in the past, this skate that Nam had proved to be a redemption for him. I think that his new coach is a good switch, and Nam will work on his jumps to be even stronger at his next event.

Which performance was the most underscored?
Amber: I’m going to go with Misha Ge’s Free program. All of his elements had a GOE of 0-1 and an occasional 2, I think he deserves better than that. I’m really gonna miss him if/when he retires.

Clara: Hmm… I would have given Mirai Nagasu higher PCS in both the short program and the free skate. Same with Jinseo Kim (or maybe that’s just because he’s my fave and I’m obnoxiously biased).

Elisa: I was going to say Mai Mihara, because the judges think she’s still juniorish and that 62 in PCS was a joke, but then I watched Li Zijun’s free skate. How can a very emotional and almost clean performance get only 55 PCS??? Ok, she was a bit slow and hasn’t got many transitions (thanks Mishin), but she finally went back to her original Sleeping Beauty Technical Content and despite all she delivered a good free program. Maybe next time she should say “spasiba” to the judges, and her marks will go up again 😉

[https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TfgGb86nVtY]

Emily W: When it comes to Chock/Bates’ Free Dance, the only judge I’m not mad at is Judge 6. [Editor’s note: Judge #6 was the American judge, and those of us playing “find the American judge” won immediately  ¯\_(ツ)_/¯]

Justyna: First thing that comes to my mind is Da Bin Choi with her La La Land short program. It was light and fun and really well performed that I expected her to be better scored, but it was not the moment I would call grossly underscored. There was no such program this event for me.

Victor: I think that Maia and Alex Shibutani’s short program was underscored. When I was watching them, I felt drawn in, whereas for Tessa and Scott, I didn’t feel connected with the duo. I felt Alex and Maia’s elements were smoother and the overall skating quality just felt so much better. I am not an expert in the field of ice dance, however, to the eye, I thought that Alex and Maia should have scored 77-78.

Which performance was the most overscored?
Amber: Virtue/Moir short dance. To be honest, the scores for this competition didn’t really have me screaming “robbed” or “jeez that’s so high,” so this was really the only program that was maybe a little overscored.

Clara: Welcome to Korea, the land of no inflation even if your name is Kim Yuna. I don’t think there was any inflation that occurred. If it did, I didn’t notice.

Elisa: I think the judges have done a quite nice job here, maybe sometimes too strict. But I must say that Nathan’s free skate PCS were quite generous. That 9.00 in skating skills (very close to Patrick) broke my heart, surely he’s good, but still not that good. Overall, I would have given to him something around 83.

Emily W: When you fall 3 times but still get the second highest PCS…

Justyna: It’s hard to pick between Kaetlyn Osmond and Mai Mihara in both segments. Obviously Mai delivered and I really appreciate that, but she still really gives me childlish impression has a space to grow in the intepretation/performance. I honestly don’t understand such a fuss about K. Osmond. This year her programs are a snooze fest and I’m quite shocked that her flip/lutz are only treated with ! mark because when I don’t look at the tech elements list for her I can’t say if she is trying to jump a lutz, or a flip? She’s under my category of grossly overscored this whole season.

Victor: Kaetlyn Osmond’s short program for sure. With a fall on a double axel, getting 68.21 seems a bit high for me. Gaby Daleman skated a good short program but scored only .04 higher than Kaetlyn. I thought that Kaetlyn’s GOE on her triple lutz was very generous. With a fall on a double axel, which should effect the performance side of the PCS, she should’ve gotten around 65.

Out of those skaters and teams who finished in the bottom half of their events, who had the best performance?
Amber: Sihyeong Lee.This denim cowboy with a mini tie took us to church. [Editor’s note: I can’t find a video of this free skate; if you’ve found one, please let me know!]

Clara: If by best, you mean most memorable, I’m giving it to Sihyeong Lee’s free skate. Hands down. For some reason, I forgot that he was doing what T-list has come to dub as “Rodeo Church” this season, and seeing it done flawlessly (and Twitter’s jokes) makes it one of this season’s more iconic programs. On a more serious note, I would also like to cite Korean pairs team Suyeon Kim / Hyungtae Kim. Their programs were nice to watch and they work well together. I think they have so much potential in the long run.

Elisa: Pair team Sumire Suto and Francis Boudreau Audet. They are so lovely to watch and lately it seems that they have been more consistent. Japanese pairs don’t usually stand out in these events, but I think this team could do in the future something special.

Emily W: I just love Kana Muramoto and Chris Reed (it’s a bonus that Chris looks like Adam Driver). Their free dance has been a favorite of mine all season, and I hope they’re able to fix the little mistakes so they can reach their goal of Top 10 at Worlds.

Justyna: My pick will be Brooklee Han. She caught my eye during the Grand Prix circuit sometime ago, and I watched her FP with my mouth open, surprised that she can be so damn good. Sometimes you don’t need the hardest technical content to be amazing.

Victor: Ashley Cain and Timothy Leduc had a solid performance, but it wasn’t their best. Nonetheless, this is one of their first big international events. They scored a new personal best and skated a rather decent program, in my opinion. They proved themselves at nationals, ending up on the podium, so I think that in the future, they will work on their mental mindset, so they can be a force to be reckoned with!

Who has the most to gain at their next competition?
Amber: The most to gain would be Nathan Chen. For obvious reasons. Isn’t Icenetwork calling him the quad god? I wouldn’t be surprised if Nathan becomes a world medalist or even world champion in Helsinki. 

Clara: I would probably have to say Mai Mihara and Nathan Chen. This win at Four Continents is a confidence booster for them heading to Worlds. Now both of them are going to be favorites for the gold medal (and helping both USA and Japan keep three spots).

Elisa: Nathan Chen. He has the quads and he is quite consistent. He could easily be a medal contender at Worlds. And also Virtue/Moir, they’ve been unbeaten all season, and they have the best programs in the field.

Emily W: Obviously Sui/Han came out and showed they are real contenders for the World Title (yay). Two more performances like they had here (plus a clean free) and they could be headed into the Olympic season with a ton of momentum.

Justyna: I think it’s Nathan Chen. This victory is a warning for the top men that he is competitive and needs to be considered as one of them. Good results at Worlds will put him in the medal contender position, give him a big confidence boost, and prove him as a consistent skater who can deliver when it’s needed

Victor: Shoma Uno. I have had the chance to skate with Shoma in practice when he came to Chicago. He has always been the underdog and shadowed Yuzuru. He landed a 4 loop and 4 flip. Shoma is proving himself time and time again this season. At worlds, if he peaks at the right time, and skates like he has all season, I expect a big surprise!

Who has the most to lose at their next competition?
Amber: This isn’t a particular person, but United States ladies. I don’t think it’s the men that we have to worry about not getting 3 spots for next season/Olympics, it may be the ladies. Everybody light a prayer candle and hope our ladies world team skates clean programs!

Clara: Definitely all the skaters who are heading to Asian Winter Games (looks at Misha Ge, Jinseo Kim, Michael Christian Martinez, Julian Yee, Rika Hongo, Chloe Ing, Zijun Li, Junehyoung Lee, Boyang Jin, and Han Yan). Fatigue would definitely factor in for these skaters as they compete two weeks in a row. [Editor’s note: this is happening NOW!]

Elisa: Weaver/Poje and Gilles/Poirier. Mistakes in the short dance are no joke, they can seriously ruin your chances of medal, like here at 4CC. The battle for the third spot on the podium at worlds will be crazy, you cannot afford to fail twizzles, dear Andrew, or do a random fall, Piper.

Emily W: The U.S. Ladies in general, honestly, have a lot to lose in the rest of the season. I’ve been worried about 3 Olympic spots all season, and 4CC did absolutely nothing to give me confidence that it will happen. Ugh.

Justyna: I think it’s Yuzuru Hanyu. That’s his 3rd trip to 4CC and 3rd silver. He lost to Javi 2yrs in a row and he seems to be less sure about his abilities this year.

Victor: I think Patrick Chan. Patrick Chan just hasn’t been himself for the past year. They noted on NBC that he has been going to a mental coach, but honestly, I don’t see it happening. He seems to always crumble during the second half of his program. I hope that Marina and Oleg will work with him on his jumps, because his PCS scores are already there. I still think that the pressure will get to Patrick, especially since worlds is overseas.

What surprised you most about this event?
Amber: I was surprised that Mai Mihara was the winner of the ladies. I did not think that was going to happen. Personally I wanted Mirai Nagasu to win, but I’ll settle for bronze. 

Clara: I’m not sure whether anything about the event surprised me. OK fine, fake me (Mai Mihara) winning Four Continents was the only thing surprising among the results. If anything, I was NOT expecting to see Coach Heasook Shin skate!

Elisa: The Olympic venue brings a lot of attention, and suddenly an almost “B event” becomes a mini world championship. I was surprised that, just for once, 4 Continents were more important than the Europeans. And also the judges gave quite strict scores (which I like a lot).

Emily W: The Ladies podium and Ilyushechkina/Moscovitch’s bronze.

Justyna: That PJ Kwong was the announcer. I realized this during 4CC and also I realized that she announced at the Vancouver Olympics. How could I not notice?!

Victor: Nathan Chen winning the overall event. Nathan Chen’s jumps are one of the best in the world. After hearing a score like Yuzuru’s and still skating a good program, that shows that Nathan is a force to be reckoned with and he won’t easily be defeated. When I saw him on top of the leaderboard after the short program, I was stunned. Nathan Chen was definitely a huge surprise.

Which non-medalist from this event is likely to have the most success at Worlds?
Amber: Wakaba Higuchi. The programs she skated at 4CC are definitely not her best and she is capable of so much more. 

Clara: Boyang Jin, definitely. He just needs to skate cleanly at Worlds, and he could probably repeat as surprise World medalist again! As for non-medal contenders, Misha Ge, Jinseo Kim, Michael Christian Martinez, and Julian Yee. They probably won’t get any medals at Worlds, but if they do well, they will get the most since they will be able to get those coveted Olympic spots at Worlds. As for the ladies, I’d like to go with Satoko Miyahara (LOL!). Since she’s resting during both Four Continents and Asian Winter Games, I hope she’ll be fully recovered in time for Worlds and to get that podium spot she deserves.

Elisa: Probably Yu/Zhang. Strangely made some mistakes here, but generally are very solid. And also Satoko Miyahara (who unfortunately withdrew), consistency is her best friend, but her injury and pressure might affect her.

Emily W: Well the obvious choice is the Canadian Lady Who Must Not Be Named, because #inflation. [Editor’s note: Based on previous responses I’m assuming this means Emily is now comparing Voldemort with Kaetlyn Osmond.]

Justyna: It’s hard to choose, but I think Boyang Jin. I can’t even say when I became such trash for him. I wish him all the best and I think when lands his jumps cleanly he will be a medal contender again.

Victor: Dabin Choi has been skating great all season and I don’t expect any less at worlds. Her jumps have improved since her first competition and I think that all she can do now is continue and improve upon 4CC. With a little work from now until worlds on both the jumps and the program components, I think she will end up within the top 7 at worlds.

Which medalist from this event is likely to have the least success at Worlds?
Amber: Gabrielle Daleman? Omg this question is so hard. It’s not that I think Gabby is going to do poorly, I just don’t think she will medal at worlds. I mean, the 4CC medalists are medalists for a reason. So if a skater skated well here and was a medalist, then chances are they are going to do well at worlds.

Clara: Mirai Nagasu, simply because she won’t be there. On a more serious note, I hate to say this but probably Shoma Uno. He’s competing at the Asian Winter Games right after 4CC, and I hope he has enough time to rest for Worlds after that.

Elisa: Probably Ilyiushechkina/Moscovitch, a good pair team with potential, but will it be enough to beat the main teams? I would say Yuzuru Hanyu too, this season has been quite strange to his normal peak standard, he looks unbeatable but then he loses his momentum, not sure if everything health related is ok (I hope so), or maybe he just hasn’t peaked yet. I still think that he sometimes has that over-thinking issue.

Emily W: It will be interesting to see what happens with the Ladies medalists at Worlds–there were some notable skaters missing from 4CC, plus the stiff competition coming from the Europeans will make it an uphill battle. (Also Mirai, as always, deserves so much more than what she’s getting.)

Justyna: Madison Chock and Evan Bates. Their material has really grown on me, but when I put them in the place with the rest of the ice dance field this year I think that they are not medal contenders in the world anymore.

Victor: As much as it hurts me to say this, Karen Chen just doesn’t do well internationally. With her skate at 4CC, I feel like she won’t live up with everyone’s expectations. She has always struggled with her confidence, so having a skate like she did here, is not a confidence booster at all. With her track record on the international stage, I don’t see a standing ovation happening… but you never know!

 

The experts always get to make “bold predictions.” Make a bold prediction about something that will happen in the remainder of the season.
Amber: I swear to god if Evgenia Medvedeva does a quad salchow at worlds I am going to chuck my computer out of the window and completely lose whatever is left of my sanity.

Clara: Plot twist of the century, everyone dies from too many quad attempts at Worlds that either Jinseo Kim or Kevin Reynolds wins.

Elisa: Javier Fernandez will be off the world podium. American ladies will lose one spot. Evgenia Medvedeva will add triple-toes in every jump.

Emily W: Europeans Potato and Perfect Human Jorik Hendrickx will be Top 10 at Worlds, we will voodoo Mirai onto the World Team again, and World Champs will be Sui/Han, Virtue/Moir, Nathan Chen, and ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ (you heard it here first, folks).

Justyna: Our Polish Ice Dance team Natalia Kaliszek and Maksim Spodirev will claim us more spots at Worlds/ two dance spots at the Olympics. And I wish it will be true because I’m super fan of our second ice dance team Justyna Plutowska and Jeremie Flemin and I want them to be present at the international stage more.

Victor: I always feel like Meagan Duhamal and Eric Radford pull through at worlds. I’m calling it – they will win worlds. Yuzuru will finally pull through in the long program at worlds and beat a Nathan Chen who will fall. Javier will end up 2nd, leaving Nathan 3rd. Maia and Alex will get 2nd at worlds with their great performance abilities and Papadakis and Cizeron will get 3rd, breaking their world champion streak. Evgenia will beat her record with a clean performance. The judges will reward her heavily, as worlds is in a European country… of course, politics is involved in skating.

Bonus question! Imagine one country with competitors at this event is being given another spot at Worlds in all four disciplines (even if they already have three). The skaters in these disciplines do *not* have to met the technical minimums to compete at Worlds. Which country is getting additional spots and why?
Amber: This question was kind of hard but also kind of obvious… The United States. Then we can send Mirai Nagasu. Then all is right in the world once again. USA’s ice dance teams rock so just send Joe Johnson/Karina Manta so he can #JJstyle once again in the kiss n’ cry. Also, Just Because Mervin Is Canadian Doesn’t Mean He Can’t Go To Worlds This Season. 

Clara: I’ll probably give the spots to Korea and USA, simply because I’d like Korea to try getting as many spots as possible for the Olympics, and because #MiraiForTheWorldTeam needs to be a thing.

Elisa: I’d choose Korea. The Pyeongchang Olympics are (un)counsciously creating a new generation of young athletes, but unfortunately some of them will be too young to compete in 2018. This year Korean nationals were quite interesting, so many new names and great talent. I’d give them another spot in all disciplines to let the promising stars shine at worlds, especially now that Asia isn’t just all about single skaters, but are considering more the pairs and the ice dance competitions. (Also, give a spot to worlds to Mirai Nagasu)

Emily W: I mean the obvious choice is the U.S. right? That way Mirai can go, we can send another stellar dance team, and… something about men and pairs (*mumbles to self*).

Justyna: Aussie Aussie Aussie OI OI OI Australia because I really liked their pair and the more Dodds the better 😉

Victor: I really want to see the U.S. send Mirai Nagasu. She always peaks around this time of year and to send her would really help the U.S! Also, I really want to see Vincent Zhou go, even if he is too young. Him and Nathan are the future of U.S Men’s figure skating and if we promote Vincent more, he could end up just like Nathan Chen winning multiple international senior competitions.

Anything else to add about this event?
Amber: Wenjing Sui is an actual goddess and I love Alexa and Chris. That’s all 🙂

Clara: It was good to see Queen Yuna again after such a long time. I missed seeing her at international skating events. I would also like to mourn the lack of Kim-Chiddy interaction… at least public interaction. LOL.

Elisa: I’m glad I didn’t die during the men’s event, but Yuzu can you avoid popping your quad sal? It would be great for my mental health, thank you. And also guys, can you chill sometimes? Last, Kim Yuna awarded the ladies, I was so happy for them (and I must admit also quite jealous).

Emily W: Oh oops I said nothing about the men. All you need to know is the true winner there was Han Yan’s single, gold hoop earring.

Justyna: I’m quite sad for Piper and Paul, because I wish them all the best. I love their disco and I was sad that they did so poor in the SD.

Victor: I thought the judging was solid, as was the technical panel. The skating in the short program ladies was a bit weak but they pulled through in long. The men’s event was SO exciting to watch. Pairs and ice dance was cool and stunning to watch, too. It was a great test skate for the 2018 Olympics and I look forward to seeing the battle at worlds continue!

What did you think about this year’s Four Continents Championships? How did our judges do? Leave us a comment to let us know, then sign up to judge a future event!

Leave a Reply

